Tokyo Paralympics 2020: Devendra Jhajharia won silver, Sundar Singh Gurjar won bronze, India’s new record in Paralympics

India Medal Tally at Tokyo Paralympics 2020: Monday has been a historic day for India at the Tokyo Paralympics. India has so far won 4 medals in these games. First of all, in the 10m Air Rifle SH1, India won the gold medal. After this, star javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia won the silver medal, Sundar Singh Gurjar won the bronze medal in the same event.

Apart from this, athlete Yogesh Kathuniya of discus throw also secured second place. On the basis of this spectacular performance, India has overtaken its previous record of winning the most medals in these games.

Devendra Jhajharia won the silver medal in the men’s AF 46 event with a throw of 64.35m javelin. The 40-year-old Jhajharia, who won gold medals in Athens (2004) and Rio (2016), broke his own record this time but Sri Lanka’s Dinesh Priyan Herath, however, did not fulfill the Indian athlete’s dream of completing a hat-trick of gold with a throw of 67.79m. Gave. The Sri Lankan athlete also broke Jhajharia’s previous world record with this effort.

Sunder Singh Gurjar also won the bronze medal in the same event. He finished second behind Jhajharia in the men’s javelin throw F46 event. Athletes in F46 have hand disorders and muscle weakness. In this, players stand and participate in the competition.

Gurjar threw 64.01m javelin, which is his best performance of the season. The 25-year-old athlete lost his left arm in an accident in 2015. Gurjar, who hails from Jaipur, won gold medals in the 2017 and 2019 World Para Athletics Championships. He won silver medal in Jakarta Para Asian Games 2018. Another Indian athlete Ajit Singh finished eighth among nine players with a throw of 56.15m.

Earlier, Kathunia had won a silver medal in the men’s discus throw in the AF 56 event. 24-year-old Kathunia, who did his B.Com from Delhi’s Kirori Mal College, won the silver medal in his sixth and last attempt by throwing the discus of 44.38m. India won four medals at the 2016 Paralympic Games, but has won seven medals at the Tokyo Paralympics so far.

Women’s table tennis player Bhavinaben Patel and high jumper Nishad Kumar won silver medals on Sunday but Vinod Kumar’s bronze medal in discus throw F52 event was withheld due to protests over their classification.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top