Shikhar Dhawan to lead Team India in Sri Lanka; Sakariya, Padikkal receive maiden call-up

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the squad for the upcoming limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka in July. India are scheduled to play three ODIs and as many T20Is in the island nation between July 13-25.

Shikhar Dhawan has been named the captain of the side, while experienced pacer Bhuvneswhar Kumar will be the vice-captain on the tour.

India’s first-team captain Virat Kohli, as well as vice-captain Rohit Sharma, will be two of the many first-choice players who will not be a part of the SL tour, as they will remain in England to prepare for the five-Test series.

Here is the Indian squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shah Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendar Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

All the matches of the tour will be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Batsmen Nitish Rana, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devdutt Padikkal, and left-arm pacer Chetan Sakariya have received their maiden call-ups for the tour, following impressive performances in India’s domestic limited-overs tournaments earlier this year and the 2021 Indian Premier League.

Prithvi Shaw, Sanju Samson and Manish Pandey, meanwhile, make a return to the Indian team.

Rahul Dravid is expected to coach the Indian squad for the tour according to multiple reports. However, the BCCI is yet to confirm his appointment.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top