Ind vs Eng: KL Rahul punished by ICC, found guilty of violating Article 2.8

Team India’s opener KL Rahul has found it costly to express his displeasure over the decision of the umpire in the fourth Test match against England at The Oval. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has fined him 15 percent of the match fee.

Rahul has been found guilty of violating Article 2.8 of the ICC Code of Conduct relating to players and support staff of players. The ICC issued a statement saying ‘In addition a ‘demerit’ point has been added to Rahul’s disciplinary record. This is Rahul’s first mistake in the last 24 months.

The incident happened in the 34th over of India’s second innings on the third day of the match. Rahul appeared unhappy with the umpire’s decision after being given the catch out.

Rahul has accepted this fine and there will be no formal hearing in the matter. Let us tell you that the ball of England’s legendary bowler James Anderson took the edge of Rahul’s bat and went into the hands of wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow.

Rahul was not given out by the on-field umpire, after which England took a review. It was clear in the replays that the ball had hit Rahul’s bat, but the Indian opener was unhappy with this decision. Rahul scored 46 runs in the second innings.

He along with Rohit Sharma gave Team India a strong start in the second innings. Rahul and Rohit shared 83 runs for the first wicket. Anderson broke this partnership in the 34th of the innings. Rahul hit 6 fours and 1 six in his innings.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top